Skip to content

Double chocolate banana summer squash bread

August 23, 2009

The summer squash is STILL producing.  I swear, if I have to look another squash in the face this year I’ll scream!

Here’s another good recipe if you’re having my problem and have waaayyy to much squash.  So far I’ve frozen 4 batches (8 loaves) of this one.  It’s really really good with a cup o’ joe!

First shred 2 cups of squash and set aside.  (Yep, this is the same picture of shredded squash I used for the lime squash muffins–so shoot me!)

squash

Next put 2–1 oz squares baking chocolate–I used semi-sweet–in a microwave safe bowl.

chocolate

Nuke it til it is melted and creamy, stirring occassionally.

melted chocolate

In a big mixing bowl combine 3 eggs, 2 cups sugar, 1/2 c. vegetable oil,  1 mashed banana plus enough light sour cream to make 1/2 c., 1 tsp vanilla, the melted chocolate, and the summer squash.

yucky stuff

In another bowl,  dump 2 c. all purpose flour, 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp salt, and 1 tsp cinnamon.  Combine well with a wire whisk.

flour mix`

Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir to blend.   Mix in 3/4 c. chocolate chips.

add the choco chips

Pour into 2 loaf pans sprayed with Pam.

2 loaves

Bake at 350 degrees for 60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Spread each slice with real butter and serve with a big glass of cold milk or cup of hot coffee and try not to eat a whole loaf in one sitting!

have a piece

DOUBLE CHOCOLATE BANANA SUMMER SQUASH BREAD

2 1 oz squares baking chocolate

3 eggs

2 c. white sugar

1/2 c. vegetable oil

2 c. grated summer squash

1 ripe banana

add enough lt. sour cream to the banana to make 1/2 c

1 tsp vanilla

2 c. all purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 tsp ground cinnamon

3/4 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Lightly grease two 9×5 inch loaf pans.

In a microwave-safe bowl,  heat chocolate until melted. Stir occasionally until chocolate is smooth.

In a large bowl, combine eggs, sugar, oil, banana, sour cream, grated  summer squash, vanilla and chocolate; beat well.

Mix the flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon with a wire whisk.

Add to the wet ingredients and stir to blend.

Pour batter into prepared loaf pans.

Bake in preheated oven for 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a loaf comes out clean.

This freezes well.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2009 10:09 pm

    I am SO glad to have stopped by. Like you, I am just yellow in squash. I’m done with it. I’ve canned it, frozen it, fried it, boiled, boiled, baked it. I’m buried in it. But this recipe is wonderful and I will make it this week. Thanks for sharing!

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    August 24, 2009 5:06 am

    Hey wildstorm!

    Gosh, I never thought of just saying I’m done with it! LOL You mean I could just walk away! Wow. liberating! I’ll try it today!

  3. August 27, 2009 11:59 am

    You had me from Double Chocolate!!

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    August 27, 2009 12:33 pm

    yeah, chocolate may end up being what I die of……….

    What’s that old saying–“I may not know when I’ll die, but I’m pretty sure I know from what—-an extreme case of chocolate overload.” Okay, that may not be an old saying, but it should be!

    Think I’ll make that my quote of the day.

  5. nancy permalink
    September 3, 2009 2:00 pm

    Oh my! I have so many recipes to catch up on! And of course eating that no-calorie chocolate!!

  6. Jody permalink
    June 17, 2010 7:59 pm

    I stumbled upon your recipe while searching for Summer Squash recipes and decided I just had to try it! I made it today and just had the first taste of it tonight. It’s amazing and I’m so glad I gave it a try. Exactly the right mix of chocolate and breakfast bread!! I did cut the sugar by 3/4 cup because I don’t like my bread quite as sweet and did a half whole wheat flour replacement, but this is definitely a keeper for me. Thanks!

  7. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 19, 2010 12:31 pm

    Hi Jody! Glad you liked it. I’ll have to try it with the sugar cut-back and the whole wheat replacement. I’m always looking for ways to cut calories and eat healthier.

    My blog has moved to:

    throughthegardensgate.com

    Hope you’ll join us there sometime!

  8. August 8, 2010 12:54 pm

    4 of these in the oven now! Thank you so much for the great recipe/idea.:o) Great pictures too!
    ~Michelle

  9. itsamysterytome permalink*
    August 8, 2010 1:23 pm

    Hope you like them yankeegal! I’ve already frozen 8 loaves for this winter.

    This blog has moved to:

    http://www.throughthegardensgate.com

    Hope you’ll check it out!

  10. August 12, 2010 8:55 pm

    Ok, thanks. Yes, I have some in the freezer too, tomorrow I will be making more..I am knee deep in Squash! :o)

Leave a Reply

