Skip to content

Blackberry Cobbler makes me happy

June 11, 2009

So, last night I was in “the mood.”  You know the mood–the one where you want to cook something new and different and spectacular and at the same time reinforce your family’s opinion that you are the best cook in the world? The mood where you want to do all that— but you really don’t want to go over the top in the “work” department?

Well, last night was one of those nights.  What did I cook?  A blackberry cobbler.  We grew blackberries last year and froze all of them.  Those blackberries have been sitting heavy on my mind for almost a year!  The new crop is ripening as we speak, and I knew I had better figure out what I was gonna do with the old berries before the new ones were ready.

I have  been collecting blackberry recipes all year long for blackberry pies, blackberry tarts, blackberry muffins, blackberry jams, and blackberry cobblers–I bet I have at least 30 or 40 recipes using blackberries. I haven’t tried any of them so they all fell into the “trying something new” catagory, but, for reasons known only to my therapist,  I googled blackberries one more time yesterday and wouldn’t ya know it–I found a recipe that I knew I had to try–and I did. ( I was just kidding about the therapist, but I could probably really use one.)

What was so special about that recipe?  Well, for one thing it had the 2 essential ingredients shown below.

Middle son bought 5 lbs of self-rising flour thinking it was the same as regular flour when he was on a biscotti baking binge 5 or 6 months ago.  It’s “buy- by” date is set to expire in July and I wanted to use as much of it as possible before it really does go “bye-bye”.  I hate wasting food!

Then there was the 3 lbs of butter languishing in the refrigerator left over from when I was trying to find the perfect cake for grandson Carter’s first birthday.

The cute chubby one is organic and IMO tastes way better than the regular one.  Surprisingly it was in the same price range as the non-organic butter.

So, anyway, here we go:

You’ll need, first and foremost,   2 cups of fresh or frozen blackberries.  I used frozen fresh ones.  Set them out to thaw a bit if using frozen while you prepare the dough.

They don’t look a year old to me!

Dissolve 1 c. of sugar in 1 c. of water and set aside.

Next, melt a stick of that lovely butter  (1/2 c.) in a 10″ oval or round baking dish.  Set that aside as well.

Next, in a medium bowl, cut two sticks of butter( 1 c.), into 1 1/2 c. of the self rising flour until it resembles coarse cornmeal. (no that wasn’t a typo! It called for 2 sticks!!)

Add 1/3 c. whole milk (the recipe said room temp, but I used it straight out of the fridge) and mix with a fork til  the dough starts to pull away from the sides of the bowl.

Next,, turn the dough out onto a floured surface and need 5 or 6 times.  Roll the dough into a rectangle 11 x 9 x 1/4 inches. (Work quickly here, because if the dough gets too warm and sticky, you may have to refrigerate for a bit in order to roll properly)

Arrange  the berries down the center of the dough and roll up jelly roll style.   With a sharp knife cut into 1 1/2 inch thick slices.

Now if you didn’t think that was the fun part you’ll think this next step is.  Arrange the slices on top of the melted butter in the baking dish and carefully pour the sugar syrup around them. (YUM–I think I could eat it raw!)  Bake for 45 minutes in a 350 degree oven.

Pull from the oven and sprinkle  2 T. sugar evenly over the top. (I know–I overdid  the sugar.  Next time I’ll spread it AND measure it more evenly!)


Return to the oven and bake another 20-25 minutes or so or until  the top is a dark golden brown.

(Note: mine wasn’t quite done and I had to return it to the oven.  It should be browner than this.)

And now for the best part————Spoon out a generous portion of  warm cobbler,  top with some good quality vanilla ice cream and dig in.  Did I say we wiped the whole pan out?  We did and it was good.

I was still alive when I woke up this morning so all that fat didn’t cause me to stroke out in the night!  Not, that I would recommend eating something this bad for you every day, but ya gotta live a little every now and then—-dontcha think?

BLACKBERRY COBBLER

1/2 c. butter

SYRUP:

1 c. sugar
1 c. water

COBBLER:

1 1/2 c. self-rising flour (You can substitute 1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour + 1/4 tsp salt & 2 1/4 tsp. baking powder)
1 c. butter
1/3 c. milk, room temperature (mine was ice cold)
2 c. blackberries, fresh or frozen
1/2 to 1 tsp. cinnamon if desired  (I didn’t use it)
2 tbsp. sugar
If self-rising flour is not available, substitute 1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour plus 1/4 tsp. salt and 2 1/4 tsp. baking powder

Melt 1/2 cup butter in 10 inch round or oval baking dish; set aside. Make cobbler dough by cutting butter/butter into flour until particles are like fine crumbs. Add milk and stir with a fork until dough leaves side of bowl. Turn out on floured board; knead 3 or 4 times. Roll out to 11 x 9 x 1/4 inch thick rectangle.

Spread berries over dough; sprinkle with cinnamon and roll up like a jelly roll. Cut into 1 1/4 inch thick slices.

Carefully place in pan over melted butter. Pour sugar syrup carefully around slices (crust will absorb liquid). Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour. Fifteen minutes before removing from the oven, sprinkle 2 tablespoons sugar over crust. Serve warm or cold. Yield: 8 servings.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. niecey456 permalink
    June 13, 2009 7:03 pm

    That sounds and looks wonderful!!! I’ll bet it would be good with blueberries too. I will have to try this. Thanks for sharing! Blackberries grow wild in Florida. We pull the vines out of the gardens all of the time.

  2. June 18, 2009 12:06 am

    Wow Mystery, this looks sooooo yummy!!! I visited a friend in Tennessee a few years back and came back in love with blackberry cobbler, he would bake it fresh like yours and it was just dreamy!!! He would serve it with vanilla bean ice cream, OMG!!!!! yum!!! I definitely have to try this recipe because I never did get the recipe from him. He had a vegetable garden in the back yard where he grew corn and tomatoes. I loved eating the tomatoes by themselves!!!!! I want to try and grow some tomatoes, my husband is the one with green thumb but I’m going to give a shot anyway! I love working in the garden, it really is so relaxing for me. Thanks for the recipe!!!!

  3. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 18, 2009 5:16 am

    Hey Niecey

    It is good. The dough is more a biscuit style and personally I like a rolled pie crust dough best on my cobblers, but this one is definitely tasty and fun to make.

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    June 18, 2009 5:21 am

    Hi Nancy!

    My husband is the gardener at our house, too. I piddle in the flower gardens and I agree that it is very relaxing.

    Tomatoes are my fave. Fresh tomato and pimento cheese sandwiches–the only thing better is if you have some fresh jalepeno or banana pepper to slice on top.
    Yummy.

    You should definitely grow some. They’re really easy and so much better than store-bought.

  5. June 18, 2009 2:15 pm

    Hi Mystery, oh my!!! I love tomato, cheese and mayo sandwiches!! yum!!
    I definitely have to try the fresh jalapeno with that!! Being a Texas girl I have to spice it up in almost all my meals!!! Thanks for the suggestion! I loooooovvveee banana peppers!!! Now I’m craving them, I have to tell my husband we need to make a trip to the market. I am going to try growing tomatoes and I’ll let you know how it turns out! If you don’t mind I’m taking a chunk of that no-calorie chocolate with me as I exit!!!lol

Leave a Reply

