Skip to content

Spring is in the air, ya’ll!!

March 8, 2009

bradford-pears-march-091

A picture is worth a thousand words—

bradford-pear-blossom1

I woke up yesterday morning to the most glorious sight.

bradford-pear-branch

Overnight the Bradford Pear trees lining our drive were in full bloom.  They’re one of the first signs of spring—

forsythiaalong with the forsythia bushes….

pink-copy

and the fruit trees (this one’s a peach) in our neck of the woods.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. niecey456 permalink
    March 11, 2009 9:58 am

    So beautiful! I love spring.

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 11, 2009 10:17 am

    Me, too–although our temp has dipped down to 38 this morning. We’re thinking of having a fire. I don’t like that about Spring! Frank was out trying to cover the fruit trees that are in full bloom right now. The frost has gotten our peaches for the last 2 years. We were hoping for a crop this year. Our nectarine tree looks like it may bear fruit for the first time ever.

  3. niecey456 permalink
    March 11, 2009 12:23 pm

    I will pray for your fruit trees. I hate when those things happen. We planted 3 this year. My blueberries look like they are gonna have a bumper crop this year. I love garden snacks! I want to make some muffins too.

  4. itsamysterytome permalink*
    March 11, 2009 5:09 pm

    Ohhhh Niecey! I love blueberries. We’ve never had any kind of luck getting them to grow here. We have blackberries–wild and domesticated, raspberries, and strawberries though! Frank has tried grapes but that was a bomb, too.

    What fruit trees did you plant? We have peach, pear, nectarine, apple, and apricot plus a couple of wild persimmons. We also have a couple of at least 100 year old native pecan trees.

    We started our “orchard” LOL 9 years ago with a peach tree and keep adding to it. We originally had a sour cherry tree and a plum tree but they kicked the bucket and we haven’t replaced them. We lost our oldest peach tree last year with the drought. We’ve discovered that fruit trees take a lot of work, but man are they worth it when you have fresh peach jam or pear preserves on a homemade buttermilk biscuit. Mmmmmmmm. I’m on a diet, can you tell?

  5. niecey456 permalink
    March 11, 2009 5:29 pm

    LOL! I can tell!!! We planted 3 self fertile (or so they promised), 1 peach, 1 plum, and 1 pear. We don’t do well with grapes either. Scupunons do well. I’m not real crazy about them. I hope these are self fertile. They explained that they were grafted and that’s why and said as long as we have a lot of bees, which of course we do. So I’m hoping they will do well. I miss my pecan orchard we had at the old place, but one project at a time. Apples don’t do well here. I wish they did. I love apples, but I love my blueberries and I love peaches and plums and pears, so I’m good. The peach tree was already starting to bloom, so it was really pretty already, but it opening up more, so I think it’s happy. That’s good because I can make some mean peach preserves! I think as long as you treat them like your favorite garden flower, they are good. You have made me soooo hungry.

  6. niecey456 permalink
    March 11, 2009 5:30 pm

    I meant it is.

  7. starfish permalink
    May 22, 2009 1:47 am

    I miss my pear trees!
    I had planted 3 of them about 20 years ago at my first house.
    I drove by to look at my old house and the new owners had cut one down!
    I was devistated!
    Funny how we can get attached to the things we plant.

  8. itsamysterytome permalink*
    May 22, 2009 11:34 am

    You should plant some new ones starfish! I love em! Our youngest son just planted 8 along his property line cuz’ he liked ours so much.

  9. Starfish permalink
    May 26, 2009 4:12 pm

    YOUR RIGHT!
    I think I will…we just bought this house were in almost a year ago and its high time I plant a new tree here!
    Thanks for the push!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

