Skip to content

She said YES!! We’re havin’ a wedding!

January 24, 2009

As some of you know, middle son, David, asked his girlfriend, Teresa, to marry him Christmas Eve.  It was a gutsy move on Dave’s part because we have a huge celebration with family and friends on that night. (see previous post) Could definitely have ruined the ambiance of the evening if she said no!

Dave played Santa for all the kids  and passed out tins of candy for them and homemade biscotti (he made himself and man was it good–that’ll have to be it’s own post!) for the adults.  Teresa’s tin had a ring instead of the cookies. (Hope she wasn’t too disappointed. She loves biscotti. LOL)   Everyone held their breaths as Santa went down on one knee,

but, it was all good!  And she said YES!!!

There wasn’t a dry eye in the room. Especially when her little boy, Adrian said later, “My mom is marrying David and that means she’ll still be my mom , and Dave will be my Daddy!”

And the best part (well besides the fact that we’re going to get an awesome new daughter-in-law, is that they’ve decided to have the wedding in our garden!  Yep, they’re gonna go THROUGH THE GARDEN GATE, and we are PUMPED!!!!11663

My first instinct was to to panic because they not only announced they were going to get married in the garden, but  they were going to get married THIS Spring.  Thank God they realized they couldn’t really get it together by June (translation: we couldn’t get the yard ready by then) and moved it to June of next year.  Yes!  Lots of time to plan, now!

gazebo-22gazebo

We’ve all started trying to think of  really cool  outdoor wedding ideas, but the biggest and best so far?   A gazebo! This will pretty much be a definite as we’ve (me) always wanted one anyway.  The big debate is whether to go white or natural, and if we go natural–cedar or redwood.  White would be great for the wedding, but maybe not so practical in the long term.  Yes, I know, I’m an artist and I love to paint, but that does not include house painting.

I’ve included two pictures of gazebo kits we are actually looking at.  They’re both 10’x10′ and I think plenty big. I love the white frilly one, but the plainer one could really be dressed up.  I’m kind of leaning towards it myself.

I’ve been amazed at some of the really cool (and practical) ideas Teresa and Dave have already started coming up with. They’re trying to save money and still have a terrific wedding and I think they’re going to succeed beyond any of our wildest dreams..  I’ll be posting on some of those great ideas and also on the yard as it’s whipped into shape as we go along.  Any and all suggestions are very welcome by the way!!!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. motherclucker permalink
    January 27, 2009 6:27 pm

    That is so sweet! Congratulations to the happy couple! I like the frilly gazebo, yep…I sure do…I’m gonna nose around in the garden here some more…I just love it here! LOL!

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    January 27, 2009 8:03 pm

    Thanks motherclucker–The frilly gazebo is winning out with the family so far, too.

  3. Moody Monica permalink
    February 2, 2009 9:23 pm

    Congratulations!…Whew they didn’t give ya much notice did they? Ah but I am certain you will make it beautiful.

    I love both gazebo’s!…but I agree the frilly one for the wedding…it is very elegant.

  4. niecey456 permalink
    February 5, 2009 11:10 am

    Congrats!!! Definitely the white one. That is going to be a beautiful wedding, I just know it. A couple of beautiful Roosevelt Ferns would be pretty in ornate urns, or hanging to the sides.

  5. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 5, 2009 11:46 am

    Thanks, Monica.

  6. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 5, 2009 11:48 am

    Excellent idea, Niecey! That would be beautiful. Hanging all around would be really pretty, or some hanging baskets of her flowers, and the ferns in urns in front to extend the entry.

  7. niecey456 permalink
    February 5, 2009 10:22 pm

    Now you’re talking that sounds nice! Either way would be pretty, but I think I like the latter.

  8. niecey456 permalink
    February 5, 2009 11:30 pm

    Or you could do the ferns hanging around and do the flowers in those little deck planters with the moss hanging on the rails. Metal accents I’d use the bronze, since you have that English Cottage look going on. You can use those hanging planters that are metal and you use the moss in them. You can get those in the bronze look too. I think the deck planters come in that too. Ok, I’m getting carried away. I love decorating!

  9. itsamysterytome permalink*
    February 6, 2009 1:00 am

    I’m likin’ the bronze or rusty metal deck planters. It’s gonna look like a fairy tale!

  10. niecey456 permalink
    February 6, 2009 11:33 am

    I just love doing that stuff. I know you will have it looking like the “wedding of the century”!

  11. June 1, 2016 9:08 am

    Hello I am so happy I found your blog page, I really found you
    by accident, while I was researching on Askjeeve for something else, Anyhow
    I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a tremendous
    post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also
    added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read
    a great deal more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

Leave a Reply

