Skip to content

1 deer, 2 deer, 3 deer, 4…5 deer, 6 deer…do YOU see more?

November 7, 2008

I was sitting in my favorite chair having my 2nd cup of morning coffee, and saw something moving through the front window.  I know!  It’s always exciting at our house around dawn, and this morning was no exception.

deer-at-front-window-web3

It was a doe and her fawn! I ran to get my camera and stepped outside to get a better picture.

I caught them as they ran across the drive and couldn’t believe my eyes!

walking-across-the-drive-we5

They just kept on coming!  There were four deer–(can you see the fourth one in the picture below?)

4-deer-web2

… No wait! There were five…

5-deer-webNO– there were SIX deer playing in the yard!

6-little-deer-web2

I know they’re hard to see, but I swear there were six!  It was early, and they were standing in the shadows.  If you look closely at the last picture, you can see one on the left behind the bush, four in the middle, and one running to the right–Two doe and four fawn.

The babies were running at each other, jumping in the air, and nipping at their mothers who were pretty much ignoring them while they grazed.  The moms were acting very nonchalant but were obviously keeping a sharp eye on their babies. One little fawn got a little close to the road, and her mother barked at her.  She came prancing back making a sound like a baby cow.

They stayed for about 10 minutes before some unheard and unseen “something” startled them.  They were so pretty as they ran into the woods.

I could never be a hunter.

One Comment leave one →
  1. monica111466 permalink
    November 13, 2008 9:51 pm

    Aww how cute!…Whatever you do…DO NOT invite my brother over there…it’s deer season! LOL

    “The babies were running at each other, jumping in the air, and nipping at their mothers who were pretty much ignoring them while they grazed.”

    hehe sounds like human moms.

Leave a Reply

