Skip to content

Breakfast on the patio on a crisp fall morning..does it get any better than that?

November 5, 2008

I had my first cup of coffee on the back porch as the sun came up today.  I decided it was such a perfect, crisp fall morning that we should eat breakfast out on the tiny  patio Frank built last spring outside the french doors leading into theabby-on-the-web3 guest bedroom.  The spot is just big enough for a small bistro table and 2 chairs, and it’s a perfect place for watching the birds at our feeders. The koi pond is close enough that you can hear the waterfall.  It’s a nice little private corner for our guests (or us) to have a cup of coffee in the morning or watch the sunset with a glass of wine in the evening.

So, anyway, we decided to have breakfast there-nothing special, just toast and oatmeal.

breakfast-table-web4

Okay– toast with real butter and a generous helping of the homemade peach jam we put up last season.  Yes, it’s as good as it looks!

bowl-full-of-jelly3

And I have to say the oatmeal was a surprise.  It was a new kind I’d bought at Walmart the other day.  It’s Quaker Oats High Fiber Maple and Brown Sugar Instant Oatmeal. (Yes I said instant–I have no shame!)  I figured it couldn’t be that tasty cuz’ it had 10 grams (I said 10!) of fiber in it–and well, it was instant.  But. it was really good!  It actually tasted like homemade. Of course, it probably didn’t hurt that I added golden raisins, pecans, and an extra dusting of brown sugar…..and just the teeniest tiniest bit of half and half.

maple-and-brown-sugar-whole5

Funny I used to hate oatmeal when I was a kid.  My mother had to practically tie me down and pry my mouth open to get the slimy stuff down.  Now I love it.  Go figure..

Oh, and that’s Abby, our black lab sunning herself while we ate in the first picture.  Yes, she got her own bowl of oatmeal later–minus all the extras.  I’ll abuse my own body but I would never feed that stuff to my dog!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

