Skip to content

Best Friends and Menopause The Musical

November 1, 2008

Bonnie, my best friend since junior high, has been working in Dallas and went to see “Menopause The Musical” with some co-workers.

She loved it so much that she wanted to share the experience with me, so I drove down the other night and we went together.  True friend that she is, she refrained from telling me all the funny parts,  and she didn’t pre-warn me about all the little surprises that popped up throughout the show., She just allowed me the pleasure of the “full experience.”

I have to say, I can’t remember the last time I’ve laughed so hard!  And, the audience was just as much fun as the musical.  It was a full house of VERY rowdy women of all ages and sizes—plus 2 men that probably wished they were anywhere in the world but in that theater!  At the end everyone in the audience was invited to come up on stage and dance with the actresses to Beatle’s music.  It was so cool to see really prim little old ladies hoofing it up there to link arms with much younger ladies.  They were lettin’ loose in a way that only a group of women thinking no one is looking are capable of doing. Nobody gave anybody “the look”, (my husband says I can give  “the look” better than anybody he knows-except for my mother), and nobody judged anybody or made anyone feel they shouldn’t have been up on that stage. It was just a a bunch of women hangin’ out, (no pun intended) and it was great! If the show is ever in your area, I highly recommend it. But take a girlfriend–not a boyfriend or husband!

Bonnie and I hadn’t been able to find the time to just “hang out” in quite a while, so it was nice to catch up with each other over dinner before the play started. All in all it was just a really fun evening.

The day before I went to “MenopauseThe Musical”, I read a wonderful blog by a new friend of mine, “Moody Monica”, titled “My girlfriends bless my life”.  It was a really good post and you should read it when you have the time.

You’ll find it here:

http://monica111466.wordpress.com/2008/10/27/my-girlfriends-bless-my-life/

Monica’s post, plus going to a play about women with my best friend, started me thinking about my girlfriends in general.  I’ve been lucky enough to have many over the years and because we moved a lot with my husband’s job, they have been an interesting and diversified group.  Some are still good friends, some have drifted away as our interests changed, and some I’ve wished I could have yelled, ” Don’t let the door hit you in the butt on your way out!” as they left. I’ve had lots of friends and loved most of them, but I’ve only ever had one best friend, and she’s ALWAYS been Bonnie.

We were 12 years old when we promised to be each others “best friend for life”.  I doubt if either of us realized the implications of that promise, or if we even meant to keep it, but somehow, 40 some odd years later, here we are–still best friends.  We’ve managed to support each other through all the good, the bad, and the uglies that have popped up in each of our lives, (oh, there have been lots of uglies!!!), and through it all our friendship has survived surprisingly in tact.  Even when we don’t see each other for months, (sometimes years, when we’ve lived far apart),  we always slip back easily into that comfortable familiarity of a friendship that has aged almost as well as we have! (at least my best friend tells me I’m aging well!)

I guess if I had to describe our friendship, it would be like the way I’d describe a pair of favorite old jeans–worn in a lot of places, ragged along the seam lines,stretched to the limit at times, but always a perfect fit.

About “Menopause The Musical”

Since March 2001, the hilarious show Menopause The Musical® has entertained and inspired women from coast-to-coast and internationally. The work of writer Jeanie Linders, Menopause The Musical® is a 90-minute production which includes 25 re-lyricized tunes from the ‘60s and ‘70s and culminates with a salute to women who are experiencing The Change.

Set in a department store, where four women with seemingly nothing in common but a black lace bra meet by chance, the musical pokes fun at things such as hot flashes, memory loss, mood swings, wrinkles, night sweats and eatng binges. The show’s intended message is that menopause is a passage, but it should no longer be The Silent Passage. It is a stage in every woman’s life that is perfectly normal.

http://www.menopausethemusical.com/

6 Comments leave one →
  1. monica111466 permalink
    November 4, 2008 10:32 am

    YES!…the show will return to my area in April…My friends and I plan to see it. My mother went with her friends earlier this year and loved it.

    “menopause is a passage, but it should no longer be The Silent Passage. It is a stage in every woman’s life that is perfectly normal.”

    Not sure about “normal”…LOL Check this out…

    I decide to get my oil changed, start to the garage and notice the mail on the table. OK, I’m going to change the oil in the car, BUT FIRST I’m going to go through the mail. Lay car keys down on desk. After discarding the junk mail, I notice the trash can is full. OK I’ll just put the bills on my desk. BUT FIRST I’ll take the trash out. but since I’m going to be near the mailbox, I’ll address a few bills. Yes, Now where is the checkbook? Oops. There’s only one check left. Where did I put the extra checks? Oh, there is my empty plastic cup from last night on my desk. I’m going to look for those checks, BUT FIRST I need to put the cup back in the kitchen. I head for the kitchen, look out the window, notice the flowers need a drink of water, I put the cup on the counter and there’s my extra pair of glasses on the kitchen counter. What are they doing here? I’ll just put them away, BUT FIRST I need to water those plants. I head for the door. Aaaagh! someone left the TV remote in the wrong spot. Okay, I’ll put the remote away and water the plants, BUT FIRST I need to find those checks.

    END OF DAY: Oil in car not change, bill still unpaid, cup still in the sink, checkbook still has only one check left, lost my car keys, And, when I try to figure out how come nothing got done today, I’m baffled because I KNOW I WAS BUSY ALL DAY! I realize this condition is serious. I’d get help, BUT FIRST I think I’ll check my e-mail.

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 4, 2008 1:05 pm

    Wow–have you been watching me? You just described a day in my life!

  3. niecey456 permalink
    November 27, 2008 10:44 pm

    LMBO!!! I’m afraid that describes many days in my life as well! I wish that would come to my area. It’s not scheduled to come remotely close.

  4. niecey456 permalink
    November 27, 2008 10:47 pm

    Ok, nevermind. They are coming to Panama City in January!

  5. itsamysterytome permalink*
    November 29, 2008 9:02 am

    go see it niecey–you’ll love it!

  6. April 1, 2010 2:22 pm

    I had a pretty easy time with my menopause because of how well prepared I was for it. This website was really great for me but this book I found was even better: http://bit.ly/9ayhY8

    I put it through a url shortener because it was so long 🙂

Leave a Reply

