Skip to content

How to grow your blog

October 27, 2008

When I posted my first blog I had high hopes for lots of readers, but as the months dragged by and I had a solitary hit here and a lone hit there, it became apparent that nobody could even find my blog-let alone read it!  I was basically talking to myself–which turned out to be a good thing as my blog transformed itself into something completely different than I had originally envisioned.

I started to notice that sometimes my posts would show up on the first page of queries on wordpress and sometimes they wouldn’t, and I couldn’t figure out why. I thought I was writing interesting posts with interesting titles, and I tagged and categorized each one pretty much the same way every time, but I would still sometimes be on the first page and sometimes the last and sometimes I didn’t even appear at all.

Well, one day I had a “duh!” moment.  (I didn’t say dumb–I said duh! for those of you that will think this was just too obvious–some of us are not all that blog literate.)  ANYWAY, my DUH moment was that I noticed that the days my posts were on the first page of queries were always the days I included the tag in the title! I know! DUH!!

For instance, take this post.  I’ve tagged it under “blog”, and I’ve included the word “blog” in the title.  It should show up fairly close to the top of a search for blogs. (well, maybe not since this is only the second post–I’ll have to go look and get back to ya after I publish it)

Something else I’ve learned: If there are 5 million posts with the same topic as mine,  I have less chance of being on the first page than if I picked a topic with 300 posts.

Anyway, that has worked for me.  Hope that helps.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. itsamysterytome permalink*
    October 27, 2008 10:42 pm

    hope this helps, cj!

  2. itsamysterytome permalink*
    October 28, 2008 12:28 am

    oops–318,362 blogs about blogs! But I still made it on page 3–it works!

  3. October 28, 2008 1:11 am

    Thank you….I had reading the computer lingo!

  4. October 28, 2008 1:18 am

    I meant I hate reading computer lingo…typo

  5. itsamysterytome permalink*
    October 28, 2008 1:19 am

    Well, heck. I used a new set of avatars for comments–they actually looked sweet–but look what they gave you!! Think I’l switch to the quilt looking ones like Monica uses.

  6. itsamysterytome permalink*
    October 28, 2008 1:20 am

    try again with your blog, cj. I bet you’ll get the hang of it.

  7. November 2, 2008 2:44 pm

    Just seeing if it was back up…I accidentally deleted my front page.

Leave a Reply

